The Organic Apprentice

sowing the seeds of learning!

Playing with Heavy Machinery

1 Comment

Image

I believe it is the fantasy of many children, likely boys but hey you never know, to drive a tractor. Something about being behind the wheel of a two-ton monster machine is very exciting. I say this in reference to children being excited but I was also very enthused to get an opportunity to drive a tractor earlier this week.

Bantry Bay Farm is expanding it’s farming acreage by plowing an area of a little over two acres. The new field is located directly above the lower field and is a sight to behold. Much of the work was done by Luke with some assistance from Aaron. When I had my chance to plow, after learning to properly drive the tractor of course, I felt both hesitant to mount the massively powerful vehicle but remained eager to use it.

So picture this: Its a beautiful, sunny, Summer day. There are few clouds and a warm breeze comes up from the coast bringing with it the smell of salt water and lilacs. As I sit behind the wheel of the tractor with the plow pulling behind I feel both relaxed and productive. I am able to enjoy the sights, sounds, smells, and sensations of the day while still tearing the crap out of a grass field.

So was operating the tractor a leisureable experience? Yes. Did I learn anything particularly important besides how to drive a tractor? Maybe not. However, after spending an afternoon on it I did feel as if I had truly become a man and satisfied one of the most classic boyhood fantasies. Also, it was great for my farmer’s tan!

Author: mattsongrif

I'm a Therapeutic Recreation student who loves nature, wind, coffee, and playing in dirt.

One thought on “Playing with Heavy Machinery

  1. Mattson your favorite toy as a little boy was a yellow tractor and when you pushed down on the man’s head he said “I DIG DIRT!” and dirt you did dig 20 years later! I could almost smell the salt air and the sweet air!

Leave a Reply

